This report was written by Laura O’Connell Rapira, Director of ActionStation. It was commissioned by Anya Satyanand, Executive Officer of Ara Taiohi.

The PDF version of the report was designed by Tamatha Paul. Illustrations were done by Megan Salole from the League of Live Illustrators.  

Research assistance in survey analysis was provided by Madeleine Ashton-Martyn and Eliot Pryor, who are both campaign staff at ActionStation.

Interviews were conducted by Ella Rose Shnapp. Ruby Sands, a volunteer for ActionStation, took notes at eight of the workshops at Festival For The Future. Two volunteers proofed the report - Jessica and Alex.

We wish to also pay special thanks to the crew at Inspiring Stories Trust who organised Festival For The Future and enabled us to run workshops there.


ActionStation is an independent, crowdfunded, community campaigning organisation. Our mission is to tautoko (support) and whakamana (uplift) everyday New Zealanders to act together in powerful and coordinated ways to create what we cannot achieve on our own: a society, economy and democracy that serves all of us - everyday people and Papatūānuku, the planet we love. We have a proven model of member-driven, digitally facilitated, multi-issue, rapid response, grassroots campaigning with a focus on shifting public opinion and driving the media agenda in order to influence political decisions so they are better for people and planet.


Ara Taiohi is the peak body for youth development - the beating heart of a vibrant sector who put the rights and strengths of the young people we work with at the centre of this work. We are a membership organisation focused on sector development, with over 1250 members spanning the diversity of youth development in Aotearoa. Since our inception in 2010, Ara Taiohi has delivered against our strategic priorities of connecting the sector, raising the standards, championing youth development and promoting sustainability for people and organisations working with young people across the motu. We are working to realise our collective vision for Aotearoa as a nation where ALL young people flourish.